Author Topic: Continuous Dictation of Phonetic Alphabet  (Read 1618 times)

martincox

Continuous Dictation of Phonetic Alphabet
« on: December 18, 2021, 12:41:13 AM »
Hey

I found a thread on the forum that detailed how to get VA to respond to the NATO alphabet, which works really well (https://forum.voiceattack.com/smf/index.php?topic=142.msg608#msg608). The only downside is that it's letter by letter. So to spell out "Hello", it's like Hotel<interpret>Echo<interpret>Lima<interpret>... and so on.

I wondered if there was a way to structure this to be a continuous input, like Hotel, Echo, Lima, Lima, Oscar <interpret>.

I'm very new to VA, and I'm trying to get through the manual, so this might be obvious. But any help would be appreciated. :)

Is there anyone else that's using this for programming in Vim? The NATO bindings work basically with Vim in the browser and feels quite futuristic to navigate with voice. I suffer from terrible recurring RSI (I'm a developer), so hoping that this can help me to reduce the amount of time that I spend with my hands on the keyboard.

martincox

Re: Continuous Dictation of Phonetic Alphabet
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2021, 04:19:17 AM »
I've kind of figured it out by making the phrases wildcards, so that the ordering doesn't matter.

What I need to do now is loop the CMD variable, I think, but be able to process the elements sequentially.

Any ideas how I might do this bit?

Pfeil

• Global Moderator
  • RTFM
Re: Continuous Dictation of Phonetic Alphabet
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2021, 11:31:07 AM »
If your command phrases are individual NATO alphabet "letters", the relevant commands should already be executed, theoretically in order, but as they run asynchronously, the order of the actual output cannot be guaranteed

Have you found that having each command press its relevant key does not produce the intended sequence?