Author Topic: Multiple callsign simple smart solution  (Read 978 times)

Polaris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« on: March 24, 2025, 12:59:34 PM »
Issue:
Profile has many commands containing a callsign in different locations in the command.
That callsign changes very often.
Current solution: export> edit by search and replace note editor > import.

Trying to implement the following with no luck:
1. Change each callsign occurrence to the following: “{CMD:mycallsign} “
2. Add the following command to profile and to  options>profile exec>execute command when profile is loaded:
“ Set Text [mycallsign] to 'Viper' “

Would appreciate help.

Gary

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2861
Re: Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2025, 01:21:53 PM »
What exactly is it that you are trying to do?

{CMD:mycallsign} is not something that exists.  The {CMD} token renders the name of the executing command (there is no parameter).

SemlerPDX

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 316
  • Upstanding Lunatic
    • My AVCS Homepage
Re: Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2025, 01:48:43 PM »
Issue:
Profile has many commands containing a callsign in different locations in the command.
That callsign changes very often.
Current solution: export> edit by search and replace note editor > import.

Trying to implement the following with no luck:
1. Change each callsign occurrence to the following: “{CMD:mycallsign} “
2. Add the following command to profile and to  options>profile exec>execute command when profile is loaded:
“ Set Text [mycallsign] to 'Viper' “

Would appreciate help.

I would allow users to say any callsign, even if it is the incorrect one.  Should not punish voice commands for speaking the incorrect item:  allow them to role play as they want, but do not require a same-same callsign to be a rigid requirement to issue any voice commands.

Create a text variable containing all callsigns, delimited by semicolons ";" and then use that dynamically in any command phrases instead of hard-coded callsigns - for example:

Code: [Select]
Set text [Callsigns] to 'Amber;Angel;Argos;Avenger;Banshee;Barrel;Bat;Beast;Bison;Blackhawk;Blackjack'

...then in the "When I say" section of your commands:

Code: [Select]
[{TXT:Callsigns}] Do a Barrel Roll
...the example above would allow for a command phrase of "Amber Do a Barrel Roll" (or any such callsigns present in the Callsigns text variable -- just note that anytime this variable changes, the active profile would need to be reloaded for these new callsigns to be available as command phrases).

Polaris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2025, 03:39:20 PM »
Gary,
Flight sim multiple commands with callsigns spread evenly through the commands.
Copy regarding CMD.

SemplerPDX,
Your example is what I’m trying to achieve.
For some reason when testing it doesn’t work for me.
I can't get VA with the same lines you typed to recognize the callsign.
Weird.

SemlerPDX

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 316
  • Upstanding Lunatic
    • My AVCS Homepage
Re: Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2025, 01:06:13 PM »
SemplerPDX,
Your example is what I’m trying to achieve.
For some reason when testing it doesn’t work for me.
I can't get VA with the same lines you typed to recognize the callsign.
Weird.

I would assume that you are not respecting the proper logical flow of this concept:  First VA needs to load your profile, then it needs to load some command from within that profile (set to execute anytime this profile is loaded) containing key variables used by the profile (such as the callsigns variable) so it "knows" what this variable means.... then, it needs to "reset the active profile" as an action within that command.  This will reload all commands in that profile (including those with a variable in the "when I say" portion), thus populating that command with all the callsigns it just read.



It is a multi-step process to use variable command phrases, and so long as you follow the above steps, your profile will work with variable command phrases loaded from text variables.  There are other ways, of course, even plugins to accomplish this, but this is the general "easy" way.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2025, 02:00:08 PM by SemlerPDX »

Polaris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Multiple callsign simple smart solution
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2025, 04:15:34 PM »
SemlerPDX,
Much obliged !
Fixed and working.

Just my own subjective opinion regarding rigidity of callsigns:
I mostly fly online and use very specific calls formation.
Built in them, as in any aviation calls and no matter if civil or other…your specific and precise callsign.
It’s as basic as holding a stick or a throttle.
You just don’t fly online without using the exact callsign assigned to you (in flight you can use your number but that’s it)…just like in the real world.
In my opinion.

One thing I do wish…to be able to use wildcards with a much better reliability.
Windows speech engine struggles with my accent and unless I give it precise calls it’s a hit and miss.

Cheers :)