Author Topic: How do I create a random output?  (Read 1072 times)

kamiofice

How do I create a random output?
« on: July 12, 2022, 09:57:15 PM »
Okay, so maybe this has been answered and maybe it hasn't. I have been using Voice Attack for years after discovering it for Elite Dangerous, and now it's slowly expanding into a much larger project on my computer. I use it in basically every game and even for work to help manage frequently typed phrases.

I am looking to update my phrases a little bit. What I would like to do is create a command so that, when spoken/triggered, it provides a random output. So if I were to say "Rock, paper, scissors, shoot!" it gives me either "Rock or Paper or Scissors." I've been fiddling with command lines for two days, but I admit I am not a programmer. Any help that someone would be willing to provide to get me rolling would be very much appreciated.

Pfeil

• Global Moderator
  • RTFM
Re: How do I create a random output?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2022, 02:28:56 AM »
There are a number of ways to randomize certain aspects of commands, E.G.:

Doing so within the "Say Something with Text-To-Speech" action is detailed in the official documentation (press F1 while VoiceAttack has focus to open VoiceAttackHelp.pdf in your default PDF viewer, which contains information on VoiceAttack's features), so I'll assume you're aware of that already.

The "{TXTRANDOM:}" token can be used with the Quick Input action, if you're looking to type (partially) randomized text

And, of course, the "Play a Random Sound" action is intended to do exactly what its name suggests.

If you want to randomize which action, or set of actions, is executed, the simplest way may be to use the "A random value" option of the "Set an Integer Value" action, combined with a set of conditions.

E.G.
Code: [Select]
Set integer [~randomValue] value as random from 1 to 3
Begin Integer Compare : [~randomValue] Equals 1
    Press A key and hold for 0.01 seconds and release