Author Topic: Wont Work With Nahimic  (Read 11236 times)

davez

  • Guest
Wont Work With Nahimic
« on: July 15, 2017, 12:40:10 PM »
Hi, Im really pleased with VA bought to use with Elite, its a fantastic extra. One thing that bothers me. I have Niamic sound installed on my MSI mobo, sadly VA wants me to turn this off before it works. I was wondering if there will be an update addressing this problem as I tend to use Niamic profiles in games. Although not for input just output.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 02:19:29 PM by davez »

Gangrel

  • Caffeine Fulled Mod
  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 216
  • BORK FNORK BORD
Re: Wont Work With Niamic
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 01:04:26 PM »
If its just for output, then it should be fine. I have sonic suite on my Asus laptop, and whilst i keep the output module enabled (sound/equaliser), I turn off the mic side (voice clarity/balance)

davez

  • Guest
Re: Wont Work With Niamic
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 01:23:21 PM »
I have got to turn Niamic off input and output for VA to work. basically exit the program.

davez

  • Guest
Re: Wont Work With Niamic
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 02:18:31 PM »
I just been playing around and just found out I can use Nahimic output by exiting Nahimic then starting VA then restarting Nahimic output only, not ideal but it does work that way. Also I spelt Nahimic right this time ;)

Pfeil

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • RTFM
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2017, 02:35:10 PM »
If you're like to automate the workaround, you could put it in a batch file:
Code: [Select]
taskkill /im Nahimic.exe
TIMEOUT /T 2
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\VoiceAttack\VoiceAttack.exe"
TIMEOUT /T 2
start "" "C:\Program Files\Nahimic\Nahimic.exe"
Where the paths and executable names are modified for your machine.

There is a 2 second delay between each action, to give Nahimic a chance to close, and allow VoiceAttack to fully start; These may require tweaking for your setup.

davez

  • Guest
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2017, 03:26:45 PM »
Hi thanks for the info, im getting a error on the task kill, the other lines work well. Maybe you can tell me more info with my parameters.

taskkill /im Nahimic.exe
taskkill/ C:\Program Files\Nahimic\Nahimic2\UserInterface\Nahimic2UILauncher.exe

these lines worked, tried a longer time out just to slow things down.
TIMEOUT /T 5
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\VoiceAttack\VoiceAttack.exe"
TIMEOUT /T 5
start "" "C:\Program Files\Nahimic\Nahimic2\UserInterface\Nahimic2UILauncher.exe"
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 03:43:06 PM by Pfeil »

Pfeil

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • RTFM
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2017, 03:43:56 PM »
Does
Code: [Select]
taskkill /im Nahimic2UILauncher.exenot work?


PS: Ignore the "edit" marking on your post, I somehow clicked "edit" rather than reply :o


davez

  • Guest
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2017, 03:49:09 PM »
It just says it cant be terminated, access is denied with a PID number 9544

Pfeil

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • RTFM
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2017, 04:14:30 PM »
Ah, Nahimic must be running as a different user(makes sense, as it's part of a driver package that'd run for everyone on the machine), so you'll need to run the .bat as admin.

If you want to have it always start as admin, you can make a shortcut to the .bat, right click the shortcut, click "Properties", click "Advanced...", and check "Run as administrator"(the compatibility option "Run this program as an administrator" will be greyed out for batch files).


This does mean you'll get a UAC prompt(unless you have UAC disabled), but it's fewer steps than doing it manually, still.

davez

  • Guest
Re: Wont Work With Nahimic
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2017, 04:28:54 PM »
Thanks, its working now, admin privileges accepted. I actually did try to change the batch file but as you noted it was greyed out, but the shortcut is not.

thanks for taking the time on this its made things a little bit easier

cheers

dave

PS>.. this is my bat file for any others with the same problem.

taskkill /im Nahimic2UILauncher.exe
TIMEOUT /T 2
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\VoiceAttack\VoiceAttack.exe"
TIMEOUT /T 2
start "" "C:\Program Files\Nahimic\Nahimic2\UserInterface\Nahimic2UILauncher.exe"
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 04:33:18 PM by davez »