Author Topic: INVERTED Voice Warnings  (Read 3035 times)

Incryptx

INVERTED Voice Warnings
« on: July 09, 2017, 11:29:18 PM »
Hello

In ED horizon, (and not that I am an unskilled pilot), every once in a while, I find myself "up-side-down" when on a planet, thinking I'm headed for the stars, when actually I went 180 degrees over and was inverted without realizing it.

This also happens near stations and ports, when you are bothered by someone or something and lose track of your spacial orientation of a moment, you can go inverted and have the space station or port just above your ship and not realize it, before hitting the boost and crashing.

On one instance, I was taking off from a planet side space port, pulled back to 90 degrees, lost focus due to a menu screen popping up at that second, and by the time I cleared the menu, I pulled past 90 degrees and the HUD flipped (as it should have), but I did not immediately catch the fact that I was now inverted. When I hit my boost and pulled up, (since I was inverted), I plowed my $4M ship right into the ground. Boom.

Granted there is the HUD and ladders for this, but if you look at your HUD in level flight and then close your eyes and invert (as a test), when you then look at the HUD, for a moment, your confused until you scan the HUD and get your bearings.

So, each time this happens to me, I immediately blame the computer and voiceattack for not warning me I was "inverted" (compared to the closest stationary port or planet surface) or "up-side-down".

It would be nice to include a few voice warnings. either from EDDI or VoiceAttack, which warn you when your ship is "in motion" and "inverted" or "up-side-down" when flying close to stationary objects or a planet side surface.

Of course, the EDDI or VA needs to be smart about being "inverted" or "up-side-down" and not depend soley on what the artificial horizon or AH ladder is doing. Several other criteria may need to be met before a warning sounds.