Author Topic: Having trouble comparing two variables  (Read 918 times)

DeckerdJames

Having trouble comparing two variables
« on: April 30, 2020, 01:44:51 PM »
Hello, I am new to using VoiceAttack but I really like it. It is a great program. I apologize if I am missing something obvious but I am having trouble with this bit of code. I do not understand why these two variables do not match. The output in the log follows and the code snippet is after that. In the log output, the [] brackets contain the contents of the variables and they appear to be the same. I tried changing the code so that I was comparing two ~~command scoped variables in case the comparison also compared types, but the output is the same. Thank you so much for your program and your time.

Ship Selection Control - Programs - Attempt to load [~~New Ship Type] - [Failed] Ship Stations Not Started - [vulture] does not equal [vulture]

Code: [Select]
    Begin Text Compare : [>Current Ship Type] Equals '~~New Ship Type'
        Execute command, 'Ship Station Control - Program - Start Ship Stations' (and wait until it completes)
    Else If Text Compare : [>Current Ship Type] Does Not Equal '~~New Ship Type'
        Set text [~~FlowMessage] to 'Ship Selection Control - Programs - Attempt to load [~~New Ship Type] - [Failed] Ship Stations Not Started - [{TXT:~~New Ship Type}] does not equal [{TXT:>Current Ship Type}]'
    End Condition

Pfeil

• Global Moderator
  • RTFM
Re: Having trouble comparing two variables
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2020, 01:51:15 PM »
You're comparing the contents of a variable to literal text, not the contents of two variables.

I.E. the contents of a text variable named ">Current Ship Type", to the literal string "~~New Ship Type".

Also note that checking for both "Equals" and "Does Not Equal" is redundant, unless you're specifically doing so in case the variable is not set.