Author Topic: Playing sounds, setting variables, and guids, oh my...  (Read 4640 times)

mtm

Playing sounds, setting variables, and guids, oh my...
« on: March 16, 2020, 05:55:24 PM »
I'm writing a fairly complex voice attack profile for a game and have been quite impressed with the level of complexity and freedom Voice Attack allows me.  I recently started playing with inline functions.  As a software engineer with a background including c++ and java, the transition to c# is easy and more comfortable to code in than using the gui for me.  Also I had a particular command which was taking over 50s normal, ported to inline c# it now takes 0.3s, so I'm sold on putting what I can in to c#.

I don't see a few pieces of functionality which I'd really like to have.  I have workarounds for these things, but if I'm missing something and they are possible using inline functions, I'd love to know how.

I have a command which is essentially a step by step configuration using voice prompts w/ user responses.  For this one I extensively use Play [random] sound, Say with tts and Wait for spoken response.  Currently I'm executing these by calling a utility command while passing parameters back and forth using the ~~ prefix.  That all works fine, but it'd be far more convenient (and I suspect slightly faster) if I could call them directly from c#.  (I do realize the docs have an example of playing sound using System.Media.SoundPlayer, but I figure since I'm using VA it'd be easier to use the built in functionality to play sounds and run voice recognition.  I'm not trying to re-create core VA functionality from scratch within VA if I can help it.)