Author Topic: How can I use voice attack to retrieve data like weather?  (Read 2778 times)

jpjazzy

How can I use voice attack to retrieve data like weather?
« on: May 07, 2018, 12:01:24 PM »
Hello,

I am new to VoiceAttack (VA) since last night and I like the speech integration with macros. I have used AutoHotkey before which is very similar, with a big more programming power and no voice attachment piece. I suppose I could write scripts and just have VA launch them, but I was hoping to do it all in one program. I am trying to learn more on how to make VA more dynamic though so I was going to start with a few simple commands. I tried searching for them on the forums, but didn't really see anyone who had done something similar.

Long story short, I want to do the following commands and was wondering if anyone had ideas or insights on how I can achieve them.

voice attack weather - retrieve the weather and use speech to say it.
voice attack time - retrieve the current local time and use speech to say it.
voice attack date - retrieve the current local date (including day) and say it.
voice attack cpu temps - retrieves current cpu temp(s) from a program called core temp.
voice attack RAM usage - retrieves current RAM usage from core temp.

The list goes on with what I would like to do, but this is a good start. Does anyone have any ideas on how I could achieve each of these commands?

Also if anyone has general tips on making dynamic commands (variables etc.) I would love to see them.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 12:06:13 PM by jpjazzy »

Exergist

• Global Moderator
  • Ride the lightning
Re: How can I use voice attack to retrieve data like weather?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2018, 12:23:36 PM »
Let's get you started:

voice attack time - retrieve the current local time and use speech to say it.
Code: [Select]
Say, 'The current time is {time}'
Check out page 122 of the VA user manual.

voice attack date - retrieve the current local date (including day) and say it.