Author Topic: Atrocious recognition and feedback issue.  (Read 5139 times)

bashpr0mpt

Atrocious recognition and feedback issue.
« on: February 28, 2018, 09:07:31 PM »
I've been using VA for a few years now, since the first voice packs came out for Elite Dangerous and I use a HCS voice pack (ASTRA ) with it. I've used this system extensively for speech recognition in the past, and it is well trained. I have run as many training sessions as my boredom level can suffer every time I open VA in hopes it will be less terrible. However, there lies the problem.

Windows speech recognition programs interface with the speech recognition system. If it makes a mistake, I correct that mistake, and it will be unlikely to happen again. But when I say;

"Hello Astra."

And it hears;

"Stop engines."

Then I am pretty much fekked. I've excessively chatted away to this thing only to see the most absurd word guesses in the history of speech recognition turn up. It's literally like I've left my audio channel open and am playing ten YouTube videos in the background at once. Random ass words that would never be used together.

VA works good for VERY. SIMPLE. commands. I often find myself having to repeat commands. But overall because it cannot learn from it's mistakes it makes absolutely ridiculous mistakes so damn often. Now with commands that include moving your ship being entered into it I can see thousands of users around the world getting absolutely destroyed by this program.

Is there any way to force it to stop being psychotic in word selection? Here is an example of the abortion of recognition it perceived whilst I was reading a Windows Speech Recognition training session. It's accuracy is about 50%, if you remove words like 'if' and 'the' etc its accuracy would be significantly lower. What in the settings can I possibly change to fix this?