Author Topic: TALK TO OPEN CHECKLIST BUT RESPOND WITH JOYSTICK OR KEYBOARD  (Read 101 times)

Airjunky737

TALK TO OPEN CHECKLIST BUT RESPOND WITH JOYSTICK OR KEYBOARD
« on: April 23, 2024, 09:57:24 PM »
Hi Guys, i am new to VoiceAttack and i am trying quickly to learn how to use it.

Basically, I fly a sim with P3D and just want to use Voice attack to read out my checklists. i do this by using the Dynamic Virtual Co-Pilot profile downloaded form VoiceAttack website.
I have managed to get all this working and it works well. For example, I will verbally say "Open Pre-flight Checklist" and it will start reading out my pre-flight checklist one at a time until i respond verbally with the phrase "Check" and then it will read out the next item.

I have found that the response to my verbal "check" command is variable. Preferably I would rather respond with a joystick button or keyboard command rather than say "check"each time. I have no idea how to do this....i have had some poor failed attempts.
Can any one help with how to do this i.e. use verbal command to activate checklist but use joystick button or keyboard button to replace the verbal "check" command??

Many thanks in advance,
Jim

Pfeil

• Global Moderator
  • RTFM
Re: TALK TO OPEN CHECKLIST BUT RESPOND WITH JOYSTICK OR KEYBOARD
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2024, 02:48:35 AM »
As those profiles are based around the "Wait For Spoken Response" action, which runs synchronously, meaning the command waits for that action to be complete, it's not really feasible to just add a "Wait For Joystick Button Press" or "Wait For Key Press" action to it.

Assuming you only need one input method to advance the checklist, the simplest modification might be to just strip out nearly everything, and make a few modifications to end up with this:
Code: [Select]
MODIFY PATH AND FILE BELOW FOR YOUR CHECKLIST
Set text [~textfile] to [C:\Checklists\Checklist.txt]
-------------------------------------------
Start Indefinite Loop