Author Topic: Some questions about the value and use of plugins.  (Read 3355 times)

Fly-By-Voice

Some questions about the value and use of plugins.
« on: January 01, 2023, 08:10:10 AM »
Greetings and Happy New Year!

I am looking to gain a better understanding of Voice Attack ‘plugins’.  Been using VA for about 3 years and, while I am not a programmer by profession, have written several profiles for in game use.  VA is very powerful.  It takes computer interaction to a new level.

So, do I continue to work with the existing VA profiles or is a plugin the next step?

The example I would refer to is a voice command for changing the heading on an airplane NAV system.  [set heading] [1..360] [degrees;]

Depending on the current heading, the new heading will move the heading bug left or right the required number of degrees after determining which direction will be the fastest path to the new heading.

Here are some of the questions related to plugins:

1)   What value does a plugin offer?
a.   faster execution of programmed actions?
b.   access to Windows functionality that VA does not offer?
c.   protection for programmer’s Intellectual Property since it is a compiled program?
d.   something else?

2)   Are there certain conditions where a plugin is recommended and others where it is not?

3)   For the [set heading] command referenced above, is the original program left in VA or moved partially or completely to the plugin?

4)   If the original program is left in VA, then does the plugin execute the keyboard key press only?

Anything you could offer is much appreciated.  Thanks for your help.

There are not enough voting stars for Voice Attack.  Looks like a 10 on 5 to me.

Pfeil

• Global Moderator
  • RTFM
Re: Some questions about the value and use of plugins.
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2023, 09:25:25 AM »
1)   What value does a plugin offer?
a.   faster execution of programmed actions?
b.   access to Windows functionality that VA does not offer?