Author Topic: AVCS - CORE Framework Profile & Blank Template Profile  (Read 3813 times)

SemlerPDX

• Global Moderator
  • Upstanding Lunatic
    • My AVCS Homepage
AVCS - CORE Framework Profile & Blank Template Profile
« on: May 16, 2021, 02:12:18 PM »

Profile for  VoiceAttack
by =VG= SemlerPDX

Description:
I've been enjoying making profiles using VoiceAttack for around five years, and creating advanced voice control systems for PC games.  When I began sharing my profiles publicly, I found it difficult to notify existing users of bug fixes, and these fixes always required a new profile download and import, even for minor typos or a single letter out of place.  I wanted a way to add or change profile function variables of all sorts without requiring a new profile download and import, when possible, to minimize major versioning.  Thankfully, with VoiceAttack, most anything is possible if you can just create it.

With AVCS CORE, flat text "config" files sit in the VoiceAttack Apps folder (under "AVCS\") for each AVCS profile, including core, which can be synced with simple .htm pages on my website.  Most of the text to speech phrases and voice commands themselves sit in text variables in those config files, making it so easy to add to, fix, or update new voice command phrasing options with a simple patch update option presented to users during initialization.

I use many methods for consistent recognition by conceptual context where appropriate, rather than forcing users into memorizing strict and rigid phrases.  For many actions, it can be 'any way you say it'.  From the many Options Menus commands to game action commands themselves, it should be very easy for users to control or edit AVCS profiles for perfect immersion in any game.